Great Hunt: Are you interested in investing your money?

Options

Comments

• chockydavid1983
    Options
    Novice201 wrote: »
    I am still in the research stage of investing, but I am not brave when it comes to money but feel I am being forced into it because the interest rates are so rubbish and the banks don't want to know about us savers.

So from reading the forum a Stocks and Shares ISA seems the best starting point, but I don't if I should just invest a lump sum or not? Any advice for a complete novice?

If you have a lump sum now and are investing for the long term, you'd normally be better off investing all now (assuming the amount you're talking about is below the S&S ISA yearly limit) as you'd then benefit from dividends payments from the moment it was in.
    You may choose to drip feed over a short time to guard against there being a crash immediately after you put it all in. Once you start down that road though, you're heading towards 'timing the market' territory, which is nigh on impossible.
  • eskbanker
    eskbanker Posts: 31,241 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    Options
    XChrisJD wrote: »
    the fund manager was so good he left & set up on his own. As an example, our investment is spread between 63% Equity, 33% Bonds & 13% Other.
    He's not very good with percentages then.... :)
  • dk2401
    dk2401 Posts: 40 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    edited 24 May 2017 at 11:27PM
    Options
    I've been investing in equities for over 30 years (:eek:!)
    Here are my 7 rules for simple investing...

1) There are no guarantees in the stock market. Although it's unlikely. you could lose part or all of your investment so never invest with borrowed cash or with money you can't afford to lose.

2) Always keep at least 6 months salary in an easy to access current/savings account in case of emergencies.