single parent due to start uni pls help

Hi
I am a single parent, 8 year old son who is registered disabled, he gets DLA,
I have been getting income support for past 2 years, whilst studying pt time at college. Due to start uni on monday, starting to freak out that I wont be able to cover housing, food ( severe allergies )utilities etc. Can anyone advise as to what financial help I would be entitled 2, right now I'm thinking I cant afford to come off income support and will have to forget the whole idea of going to uni. Also does anyone know if I would qualify for child tax credits, if so how much. I have my tuition fees covered and maint. award of
if I calculated correctly approx £100 per week plus £18 child benefit, my sons dla award gets eaten up with his dietry needs. Im studying art so lots of materials/ equipment etc to buy. appreciate any feed back
jay

Comments

• bestpud
    bestpud Posts: 11,048 Forumite
    I struggle to comprehend how people wait until the start of a course to fully assess the financial implications. Perhaps I'm odd but this is the kind of info I wanted to know before I even applied. Sorry, that's not much help to you - it's just something that crops up time and again on here and I find amazing.

Anyway on a more constructive note, you can apply for the access to learning grant once you have started. As a single parent you will be high on the list of priority students. You can get up to £3500 (there is a thread further down about it). That is well worth you looking into I'd have thought.

Also, how many weeks have you calculated your grant over? I think I'm correct in saying it should only cover the uni year and you will be able to claim income support during the summer. That obviously means you would not need to divide it by 52, but 40ish (something like that) weeks. It may be worth having a chat with the student welfare advisor at your uni as they will fill you in.