PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! In order to help keep the Forum a useful, safe and friendly place for our users, discussions around non-MoneySaving matters are not permitted per the Forum rules. While we understand that mentioning house prices may sometimes be relevant to a user's specific MoneySaving situation, we ask that you please avoid veering into broad, general debates about the market, the economy and politics, as these can unfortunately lead to abusive or hateful behaviour. Threads that are found to have derailed into wider discussions may be removed. Thank you for your understanding.

House price offer..how much?

Hi
I am completely new to house buying, I have seen a house for sale in my current street which I love but have been shocked at it's sale price of 178,000. Its a small 2 bedroom terrace with small back yard. How do you decide what offer to put in? One sold last year for 153,000 in the same street.
The property is in Leeds

Any advice gratefully received!

Replies

• Mr_daMr_da Forumite
    122 Posts
    Third Anniversary 10 Posts Combo Breaker
    Forumite
    What is the difference in condition between the two houses, seems a big price increase and is property going up in price quickly in Leeds
  • walwyn1978walwyn1978 Forumite
    831 Posts
    Seventh Anniversary 500 Posts
    Forumite
    Check previous purchase price on Zoopla. It may be that the price is high because the current owner bought at a high price (e.g. In 2005/6 when prices were high) and thus wants a 'return on his investment'

Houses like that are harder to buy just because the owner is less realistic about a sensible market value.
  • MickyggMickygg Forumite
    1.7K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Name Dropper Combo Breaker
    You decide how much to offer by working out how much you are prepared to pay.