PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.

Food budget plan

Options

Comments

• mardatha
    mardatha Posts: 15,612 Forumite
    Options
    I'm a really awful cook but I can cope with Delia's recipes. Mostly lol. Big stews with loads of veg thrown in are my standby meal. And simple old fashioned stuff like bacon eggs & chips.
  • carriebradshaw
    carriebradshaw Posts: 1,387 Forumite
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    well done Red Cola I love the sound of the pizza pasta and cinnamon buns too, yum :j
  • miffedatparkingcharge
    miffedatparkingcharge Posts: 26 Forumite
    edited 13 March 2017 at 9:15PM
    Options
    Well done Redcola. You should be really pleased with yourself. I hope the family have enjoyed your culinary delights. (Trouble is, now you've started, there's no going back!) I think my lunches are three quarters pasta based, because I just cannot be doing with sandwiches unless its a picnic! Pasta & pesto, pasta, tuna & something ...... Do keep posting.

Another tip... Onions, onions, onions. I find they are part of most meals that are in cooked in a pot. If I'm feeling pretty organised, I try to cook a good number of them early on in the week. Long & slow cook with a bit of salt & oil, stir every few minutes. Put them in the fridge to use through out. If I leave them out & I notice they get nibbled away like snacks! It just makes putting a evening meal so much quicker when they are already done.
  • Islandmaid
    Islandmaid Posts: 6,519 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post I've been Money Tipped!
    Options