We've changed the name of this board from 'Greenfingered MoneySaving' to simply 'Gardening'. This is to help make it easier to find for the horticulturally inclined. The URL remains unchanged for the time being, so all links to the board are unaffected.

Need help identifying plants

Options
The house I've moved into has an incredibly overgrown garden and I'm in the process of deciding what to keep, re-site or get rid of. I'm new to gardening and frankly can't even tell what's weeds or not yet! To start with, can anyone help identify any of the plants in the following photos?

IMG_1325_zpszhoktglm.jpg

IMG_1322_zpsqa6ddcrk.jpg

IMG_1323_zpssrp54gib.jpg

IMG_1324_zpsssfeaajd.jpg

Comments

• JulieM
    JulieM Posts: 753 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Newshound! I've been Money Tipped!
    Options
    To start you off - 3 is Hellebore, 4 is ivy or something similar.

Can't think of 1 and 2 at the moment, are they actually in flower now or were the photos taken at another time of year?
  • andymandy
    andymandy Posts: 274 Forumite
    Options
    1st plant looks like Cotoneaster but not sure what its is mixed with. It could be a Pieris looking at the leaves but not sure.
    Don't recognise 2nd plant with yellow flowers but third image looks like Helleborus Foetidus . 4th plant is ivy.
  • Farway
    Farway Posts: 13,229 Forumite
    Homepage Hero First Post Name Dropper Photogenic
    Options
    2ns plant looks like some member of pea family, or perhaps St John's wort?
    Eight out of ten owners who expressed a preference said their cats preferred other peoples gardens
  • jordanjim
    Options
    Thanks for the good start, everyone. The photos were taken today so yes, the first two are in flower.