Complete newbie to Shares, Penny Shares - Thoughts?

13»

Comments

• I think you've missed the point.

The four shares were given by one of the posters as example of "losers", in an attempt to scare the Op from investing.

The point I made was that - even if the Op had chose those shares which another posted chose as their examples of disaster cases - he would still have made money. Even if he chose all four of the disaster cases!

The point was never to demonstrate whether the Op might have done better investing in a tracker. Obviously that would be the case if all four of the Op's shares were "losers". The point was to demonstrate that the prophecies of doom and gloom made by some posters are ridiculous.

Comparing an investment with another investment, and then describing the investment as a "cash loss", is wrong and very misleading. It is not a "cash loss". The Op would have made a profit, not a loss. I agree that the Op would have made more profit by choosing a different investment over the four "losers", but that isn't the point.

I do not agree that a tracker fund is the best way to invest. Any tracker will automatically include some right lemons that you'd never choose otherwise. You are also giving up a good chunk of your investment return to fees. But that is a debate for another thread.

Frankly, and most importantly for me, it is just less interesting. Very few people are going to bother taking an interest in investing if the only thing at stake is pretend money. If the Op takes your suggested approach of using play-money, he is unlikely to learn a thing.
    The difference is that you are suggesting they learn how to cook by growing their own wheat first, or SCUBA by building a respirator, NO ONE starts to learn how to do DIY by building a house (a diversified portfolio).
    You start small and do more over time. You put up a shelf before you learn to build a house.