Simple app for scale drawings

Options
I have a sketch with sizes on that I need to turn in to a scale drawing on (garden cabin / glorified shed with a couple of dormers stuck on the front to create space in the roof!). I've never used CAD before so can anyone point me in the right direction?

Comments

• ST1991
    ST1991 Posts: 515 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    Depends how detailed you need it. I use Roomstyler to get an idea of floorplans/furniture layouts. Not sure if it was do what you need it to for more detail though...
  • TheCyclingProgrammer
    Options
    I have used SketchUp for this before. Its better suited to 3D drawings but it can be used for 2D work. It has a separate dedicated app made precisely for this called LayOut but its only part of the commercial package unfortunately.
  • Gloomendoom
    Gloomendoom Posts: 16,550 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Most CAD software has a pretty steep learning curve if you want to create anything othee than simple shapes.

You may be better (quicker) just using paper and pencil. That's what I did.
  • Davesnave
    Davesnave Posts: 34,741 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary Photogenic First Post
    Options
    Most CAD software has a pretty steep learning curve if you want to create anything othee than simple shapes.

You may be better (quicker) just using paper and pencil. That's what I did.
    And don't forget the cardboard shapes for the furniture! :rotfl:
  • leveller2911
    Options
    As above pencil and ruler..........You always buy a scale ruler which could make it easier depending on what scale they want.
  • Doozergirl
    Doozergirl Posts: 33,813 Forumite
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    I use a scale ruler and pencil :o
    Everything that is supposed to be in heaven is already here on earth.
  • malc_b
    malc_b Posts: 1,081 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary