How to reduce car insurance premium despite adverse history

Options
Hi all,

As a young driver, I am faced with the prospects of high car insurance premiums. Unfortunately, I was involved in a minor car incident in the summer of this year and was forced to attend a National Driver's Alertness Course. No claim was made on my car insurance.

I am worried whether this may increase my car insurance renewal premium, which will have to be paid at the end of March.

Are there any actions that I can take to reduce my car insurance renewal premium, in this specific case, other than the usual (advanced driving courses, no claims, etc.)?

Thank you!

Comments

• csgohan4
    csgohan4 Posts: 10,587 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper Photogenic
    Options
    change insurers perhaps?
    "It is prudent when shopping for something important, not to limit yourself to Pound land/Estate Agents"

G_M/ Bowlhead99 RIP
  • forgotmyname
    forgotmyname Posts: 32,552 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    Try every make/model of car on the comparison sites and swap cars to a cheaper one?

I was getting cheap quotes on sub 1 litre engined cars last year, but this year 1300 - 1400cc cars were cheaper than the sub 1000cc engine cars.

All very strange.
    Censorship Reigns Supreme in Troll City...

• Aretnap
    Aretnap Posts: 5,215 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    What do you mean by "minor car incident"?