IMPORTANT: Please make sure your posts do not contain any personally identifiable information (both your own and that of others). When uploading images, please take care that you have redacted all personal information including QR codes, number plates and reference numbers.

UKPC Parking Charge - how to tackle?

Options
Firstly, I'd like to thank everyone here who helped me out with a PCN from a few years back! After a series of letters in response to threads, they legal company dropped off the face of the earth and I haven't heard from them since :)

Unfortunately I'm back here once again having returned to my car the other night to discover a PC stuck to my windscreen :/

So... I went to the cinema the other night to watch Doctor Strange, and behind the cinema is a bunch of small industrial units where I always park.

I have been parking in these units behind the cinema for 10+ years, and have never received a ticket or anything. I only go to this particular cinema in the evening - when all the businesses are shut - and thus it seemed to me that parking here after business hours is A-okay... furthermore, based on how busy the car park gets during the evening, I assumed everyone else does the same.

Anyway, the parking ticket was issued at 20:59 on Saturday night (05/11) with the reason stated as "parked in a permit area without displaying valid permit", and the particular unit I was parked in belongs to Crossfit Cambridgeshire. Apparently I have to pay £100 if not paid in 14 days, and if within 14 days - £80... what a discount.

I've read the newbie sticky, but... I still wanna discuss the issue with you guys here and hone in on a specific course of action.

Additional notes:

The unit I parked in was pitch-fukin-black... not a drop of light illuminating anything (probably cos Crossfit is well and truly closed by that time on Saturday night)... is there maybe grounds to challenge the PCN on their signage not being clearly visible?