Help to buy ISA - Deposit issues

Options
2»

Comments

• Mogley
    Mogley Posts: 250 Forumite
    Options
    I'm not an expert and posted the link as I remembered reading it recently. I understand it as this.
    There is no second deposit.

The Mortgage provider requires 10% deposit. You can apply for a mortgage to include the governments contribution. You would only need £8k in your HTB ISA to achieve 10% mortgage deposit on £100k.
    The seller would like 10% to exchange contracts. This is the money you have personally saved. You would need £10k to exchange contracts on £100k house. You cannot count the government contribution in the amount to exchange contracts. So your £8k in the HTB ISA would need to be topped up with savings from elsewhere to achieve your £10k "home exchange deposit". On completion, your solicitor will apply to get the 20% (£2k) contribution to the final sale to complete the 10% required for your mortgage.

I hope this makes sense.
    You should pay attention to the needs of the moment - otherwise there is no future. But to ignore the future is foolish - living solely for the moment leaves nothing for when the next moment arrives.
  • kingstreet
    kingstreet Posts: 38,785 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    Options
    Fair enough. I guess i join a large community of first time buyers frustrated by this.

Plenty of discussion on this subject on HBR&S.

As it's not directly related to mortgages it's mostly appeared over there.
    I am a mortgage broker. You should note that this site doesn't check my status as a Mortgage Adviser, so you need to take my word for it. This signature is here as I follow MSE's Mortgage Adviser Code of Conduct. Any posts on here are for information and discussion purposes only and shouldn't be seen as financial advice. Please do not send PMs asking for one-to-one-advice, or representation.
  • chamelious
    Options