conveyancing solicitors

Options
2»

Comments

• kingstreet
    kingstreet Posts: 38,784 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    Options
    Look out for firms who include the cost of acting for mortgage lender and completing the SDLT return in their headline fees.

For some reason, I've always found the firms who quote a lower headline fee then show all these unavoidable additions as extras are trying to pass them off as disbursements when in fact they are extra fees.

It can also be worth phoning a firm next town over. For some strange reason, when I worked in Cannock all the solicitors in the town charged the same fee. My pet firm in Stafford managed to charge £200 less and it's no more than about 15 miles away.
    I am a mortgage broker. You should note that this site doesn't check my status as a Mortgage Adviser, so you need to take my word for it. This signature is here as I follow MSE's Mortgage Adviser Code of Conduct. Any posts on here are for information and discussion purposes only and shouldn't be seen as financial advice. Please do not send PMs asking for one-to-one-advice, or representation.
  • Missus_Hyde
    Options
    When we moved to our house, over thirty years ago, I used a solicitor who was the husband of an acquaintance of mine.

In my naive innocence, I thought that because he knew us he would do a better job for us (possibly a little cheaper, but I wasn't quite so concerned about that; I was more keen that he would go the extra mile and help us.)