Redundancy

Options
Am facing redundancy. Will try and be concise. 2 roles of equal grade being made redundant. 2 new roles being made one grade above and one grade below. I was only candidate for grade higher but failed to basically get my own job after interview. My own fault as I just can't get my head around talking about myself but that's another story. My main issue is that new and old JD's are almost identical. I've been doing the old job for nearly 5 years without issue but supposedly due to the interview process they can't employ me for the new role so I now face redundancy. Union have reiterated what I already knew even though I raised my concern that the jobs are 95% identical. I've worked in the department for 13 years. Should I just move on? Just seem v unfair.

Ta

Comments

• lincroft1710
    lincroft1710 Posts: 17,648 Forumite
    Photogenic Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    edited 21 August 2016 at 9:03PM
    Options
    ds1980 wrote: »
    My main issue is that new and old JD's are almost identical.

Unfortunately, almost identical isn't identical, although is there enough difference between the roles that definitely makes them different.
    If you are querying your Council Tax band would you please state whether you are in England, Scotland or Wales
  • ds1980
    ds1980 Posts: 1,213 Forumite
    Options
    I was under the impression there is a 75% rule? There is one point on the new JD out of about 10 that could be deemed as new. The rest is word for word copy and pasted. The old JD actually includes more points of responsibilities than the newer higher graded role also.
  • sangie595
    sangie595 Posts: 6,092 Forumite
    Options
    ds1980 wrote: »
    I was under the impression there is a 75% rule? There is one point on the new JD out of about 10 that could be deemed as new. The rest is word for word copy and pasted. The old JD actually includes more points of responsibilities than the newer higher graded role also.