Struggling to build good credit

Options
Hello everyone, I'm a newbie to this forum.

A bit about my situation; I'm 26 and up until 2 years ago I'd never used credit at all. I had a current account and paid for everything on my debit card. I'm at the point now where I'm starting to think about my future. My goal is to be able to get a decent car on finance and eventually a mortgage.

I stared my credit building with a Studio catalogue - the only thing I could get at the time. Over the past two years I've managed to build up my credit report with new accounts, here is a snapshot at my credit file accounts, limits and balances:

Studio £1130 - £0
Littlewoods £750 - £420.44
Very £400 - £211.97
Freeman's £500 - £48
Jacamo £300 - £63.28
JD Williams £125 - £47.80
Ambrose Wilson £225 - £27.50
Argos Card £750 - £0
Next Directory £150 - £11.99
Simply Be £125 -£0
Three mobile contract
Halifax Current Account
Nationwide Current Account

Total credit limits = £4,455
Outstanding balances = £830.98
Utilisation ratio = 18.7%
Missed payments = 0

I now have two current accounts - one I use for all my bills and essentials like groceries etc, the other I use for disposable income. I have a mobile contract (sim only) and a few catalogues. I have never missed a payment and try hard to keep my utilisation always under 30% and I'm also on the electoral roll. I've been rejected for all credit "building" cards like Barclaycard initial, vanquis, capital one and Aqua.

If I continue to look after all current credit accounts, how long will it be before I'm accepted for credit cards and (hopefully) car finance? Currently the only negative thing on my report is too many searches which is temporary and the age of my accounts is quite young.

Thanks so much for any advice.

Harlow
X

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 35,242 Forumite
    First Anniversary Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    You've got a lot of accounts there. Are you carrying debt on any of them?