PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.

Does your slow cooker bubble or boil?

Options
Hi

I have bought an Antony Worrall Thomson slow cooker, but since this is my first one I am not sure how they should behave. I wouldn't have expected a slow cooker to boil but the instruction booklet warns that if you operate the slow cooker on high it will boil.

Mine doesn't boil or bubble or anything like that, and I wondered if anyone could tell me whether their slow cooker boils or bubbles whilst cooking? I just want to make sure that mine isn't faulty.

Apologies if this post is in the wrong place, I am new to the Old Style boards

Many thanks :)

Comments

• Pink.
    Pink. Posts: 17,675 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    Hi lbt,

Welcome to the Old Style board. :)

Mine bubbles gently when it's set on high, but it's 23 years old so is a 'slower' cooker than most modern ones.

It takes a while to 'get to know' your machine....have you used it yet and is the food cooked properly and the meat tender?

Pink
  • trying-very-trying
    Options
    Hi. My sc does bubble eventually, even on the low setting, but it is just a very gentle bubbling. I would think it has to reach about boiling temperature to ensure the food is properly cooked. Remember, though, it does take several hours for it to reach that high temperature.
    Official DFW Nerd Club - Member # 593 - Proud To Be Dealing With My Debts!

• LOOYATES
    Options
    Hi mines like that too, it bubbles very gently after a while, sometimes only round the edge like pw said you'll get to know it after a few times, and realise what an invaluble piece of kit it is...i love my sc i do........:D
    pats :T
  • lbt_2