Medical secretary training

Options
I'm currently on maternity leave but expecting to be made redundant shortly after I return to work in September (my department's work is being outsourced). I have two young children and am considering training as a medical secretary; I've several years of admin experience and have worked in hospitals before, although not for over 10 years. I was looking at Pitman Training and wondered if anyone had any suggestions as to whether their courses would be the most suitable/ cost effective? I'm on a DMP and once childcare costs are taken into account I may have to pay any costs on direct debit rather than up front :(

I think I would go for the Level 2 Certificate to start with - hopefully get my foot in the door somewhere and they might offer to pay for further training - it looks like I could qualify by Christmas and then at least become bank staff somewhere to gain more experience, plus it would be flexible to work round childcare.

If anyone has any feedback on my plan that would be very helpful :)
Finally debt free!! March 2018 :j

Comments

• Gingernutty
    Gingernutty Posts: 3,769 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    The magic 'word' is AMSPAR.

If it's not AMSPAR approved, forget it.

I've seen medical students turned down for summer holiday jobs because they haven't got the AMSPAR medical terminology course under their belts!

Pitman are a good choice and concentrate on the secretarial, rather than practice management, admin or receptionist qualifications.

A huge portion of the job will be audio transcription, so you'll need good hearing as well.

Reliable medical secretaries are in demand. Good luck.
    :huh: Don't know what I'm doing, but doing it anyway... :huh:
  • paddyrg
    paddyrg Posts: 13,543 Forumite
    Options
    The lingo and acronyms will be hugely important from what I gather.