Loading Kodi onto Amazon fire stick

in Techie Stuff
15 replies 3.1K views
ferryferry Forumite
2K Posts
Part of the Furniture 500 Posts Name Dropper
Forumite
Can anyone help or advise on the level of difficulty installing Kodi for use an Amazon fire stick for a complete newbie?

Also, is this method likely to perform better than an android tv box?

Thanks for any advice
:j

Replies

• GillorGillor Forumite
    780 Posts
    Part of the Furniture 500 Posts Photogenic Name Dropper
    Forumite
    I've not used an android TV box but it works fine on Amazon's Firestick.

For tutorial see here
  • AndyPixAndyPix Forumite
    4.8K Posts
    1,000 Posts Fifth Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic
    Forumite
    I would say 7/10, and yes.

But as discussing using this device to watch content illegally is not allowed on this forum, you probly wont find much advice here ..
  • edited 30 June 2016 at 8:10AM
    JJ_EganJJ_Egan Forumite
    20.3K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Name Dropper
    Forumite
    edited 30 June 2016 at 8:10AM
    Easy on a box K is an android app you just download and install .
    You then have a box with a 100% legal media player despite MSE judgments .
    Of course you probably want this to stream content as above post .

As K is a media player it works on Windows and Android tablets or phones .
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Forumite
    0 Posts
    Holiday Haggler
    It's super easy if you've got an android phone

1. Install App2Fire - https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=mobi.koni.appstofiretv

2. Find the IP addresss of your fireTV stick, put that into App2Fire and check it discovers it.

3. Install Kodi on your android phone - https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=org.xbmc.kodi

4. Use App2Fire to transfer it to your fire stick

5. Install 'Complete Kodi Setup Wizard' on your Android phone - https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.theappguru.cksw

6. Transfer to Fire Stick with App2Fire