Can Council House be taken away?

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Disability Money Matters
7 replies 1.9K views
kevin1010kevin1010 Forumite
1 Post
edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Disability Money Matters
Just looking for some advice,

I had a serious illness (cancer) for the last five years but have been in remission for the last year and the prospects are now good, I have been receiving ESA and DLA Higher Rate Mobility since 2011 which ends in September 2016, i will not be applying for DLA again.

But i would like to continue on ESA, i have had depression for years way before i got cancer and the DSS know about this, but i recently was given a council house out of the blue id been on the waiting list for years, but i got in the post an ESA Capacity to work questionnaire which im going to fill out honestly- that ive been an alcoholic for years and i will tell my Doctor the same.

My question is, if i admit that im an alcoholic will they take my council house from me and put me in a complex for alcoholics because i didnt tell them about my situation on my application form?

If i go to my Doctor and tell him im an alcoholic to support my new ESA Claim could he inform the Council and could i lose my Council house? Any information appreciated, thanks

Replies

• AmesAmes Forumite
    18.5K Posts
    Being an alcoholic wouldn't be enough for you to lose your house. And housing for alcoholics of the sort you mention is like hens teeth, so it's unlikely you'd be able to get one even if you asked.

The only risk to your home is if you're breaking the terms of your tenancy agreement. So, if you're being noisy and disorderly and disrupting the neighbours, for instance. Although even then you'd have to be really, really bad to get a warning, let alone be kicked out. As an example, my neighbours include a prostitute and a drug dealer and there's no sign of them being kicked out.