PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.

Saving for a house (deposit)

Options
Hope no-one minds, I've searched the forums and not found a thread for people saving for a deposit to buy a house. I'm just starting out with it and working on paying off my credit card and sorting out my finances to get a mortgage as well as saving for a deposit.
I am more of a lurker here than anything but could do with a thread for people in the same situation to help keep me going and share tips and advice along the way.
I have £900 to pay off my credit card, which I'm hoping to wipe out in big chunks over the next few months. I've got a reasonable savings account which gives 5% interest and will open a help to buy ISA as well soon.
I'm going for shared ownership, with a deposit of around £5/6000. I've never been in a position to save properly before and really need to focus myself on my spending to make sure I save as much as possible and run my bank account in a way that the mortgage lenders will look on favourably.
Anyone want to join me on the thread?? :o

Comments

• Smiley87
    Smiley87 Posts: 241 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Hi,

We're saving for our first home too and have been lurkers for a long time. We started to look at where most of our money was going and it was on stupid things like groceries. We spend over £400 last month for two of us and a dog, which is the same amount that we pay in rent! We decided to give the grocery challenge a go and we've managed to put some extra money in our house deposit savings already this month.