Help re DLA for son

Options
I would appreciate any advice regarding my son's recent claim for DLA.

He is 9 years old recently diagnosed with ASD. I was told by his consultant to apply for DLA for him. He is extremely violent, both at home and school, things have got so bad at school he is danger of being excluded.

He never sleeps before 3-4am every night and I have to stay awake with him as he would have the whole house awake if I didn't.

I have received his award, middle rate care and low rate mobility. I was told by an advisor on a help line he would definately qualify for high rate care as he needs supervision for a considerable length of time during the night and also because of his extreme behaviour.

Do you think it's worth asking for the decision to be looked at again? I'm really new to all of this and don't know what to do for the best. He was be awarded DLA until 2021.

Many thanks in advance

Comments

• pmlindyloo
    pmlindyloo Posts: 13,049 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    Have you received the written reasons for the decision?

You have to ask for a mandatory decision before you can appeal. You have one month to do this.

My advice? Take all your paperwork and medical evidence to CAB/welfare advisor and ask them to help. They will guide you through the mandatory decision and the appeal. Do this asap.

Very difficult to advise as to your best option without knowing all the details and the medical evidence that you have.
  • Lindsey1973
    Options
    Thank you for your reply.

I sent two letters from the consultant paediatrician, a speech and language therapy report, a report from the Educational Psychologist and reports from the school, all detailing his extreme behaviour and problems with sleep.

The reasons on the award:

you are entitled to middle rate because you need attention with bodily functions several times at short intervals right through the day.