MoneySaving Poll: Should Sunday be like any other shopping day?

Options
124»

Comments

• zorber
    zorber Posts: 1,107 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    As previously posted. Everyone who doesn't work weekends yet want shops to open longer should pause and think, how would they like it if suddenly their work wanted them to work weekends, start at 5am in the morning some days, finish at midnight others.
    Yes its convenient to be open all the time however people need to be better organised shops are already open 6 days long hours.

I work in retail and rarely get weekends off, family life for me forget it, my family already do lots with out me and I miss out.

As other people point out there is only so much money to be spent and by spreading out when this is spent it destroys efficiencies and ends up costing the consumer more.

As the trend seems to be more and more customers going shopping at Lidl or Aldi it seems to me people don't want to pay more for their shopping.
    "Save the cheerleader - Save the world"
  • System
    System Posts: 178,097 Community Admin
    Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    Happyinflorida

Most Next workers that are forced to work Boxing Day, earn less than the cost of taxis taking them to work and back, as taxis are double or triple rate. As most retail workers don't drive for various reasons

If social media picked this up, people would boycott Next
  • Jenwales_2
    Options
    socks_uk wrote: »
    It doesn't have to be existing staff that work more hours (unless they want to) but more likely new staff. I work in a school and also work at a supermarket at the weekends. I get bored during the school holidays so I put myself forward to work extra. Supermarkets generally employ people on part-time basis and hope they want to grab any overtime going... usually we do!

Why do people assume people don't want to work on Sundays?