eHarmony auto-renew mess

Options
Hi all - I've seen this before on earlier threads (I can't link to them as I'm a new poster and they don't let newbies post links) but my question is a bit more specific. I signed up to eHarmony a year ago, for a 12 month subscription, paying over 3 months. You cannot turn off the auto-renew feature until after all payments have been made. As a previous poster has said, I DID go back on the site (which I'd found really disappointing) and turn off auto-renew after 3 months - but lo and behold, over the weekend I got an email from Paypal saying my subscription had been renewed for another 12 months. They've taken the first payment of £39.80 and presumably want to take the other two payments in Feb and March.

Of course it's my word against theirs that I switched off the auto-renew function. I really really don't want to renew! I've had a boyfriend since May (met on Tinder!) but more to the point, I really can't afford it - I'm studying for an MA and funds are seriously tight. I do understand that this was in their Ts&Cs, and I should have deleted the account altogether but...

I've called eHarmony who have escalated me to the next level, an email-only service. I've politely asked them in writing to help me but I am sure they get countless numbers of these begging messages every day.

My question is as follows:
On Paypal there is a page that lists all my pre-approved payments. eHarmony is listed there as Active. I've now switched it to Inactive - Paypal's site says that any company will now have to contact me to ask for payment. I'm just wondering if that will affect my credit rating? I HATE that I have to give even more money to this CRAP website - it makes me want to scream! :mad:

Thanks to anyone for any advice or shared rage they can offer!

Comments

• cono1717
    cono1717 Posts: 762 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options