Co-Op Energy! Bill Problems

Options
Advice greatly received!!!

Having rung CoOp Energy last week to give them my meter reading (i only rang because their website was down), i was told that my account is £570 in debit.
I have been paying a direct debit each month for the last 3 years which the co-op estimated when i switched to them at that time. Since switching to them i have received no paper bills or requests for payment.
Now that i have rung and given them my accurate meter readings, they tell me that the direct debit hasnt been covering the usage each month, for the last 3 years!!! And so i now owe £570.
They havent told me about it until i rang them up myself.
They say they dont require all the money now, but I am now in a position where i cant switch to a different supplier until i pay off the full amount.
I know they have had problems with their internal system and so admit that they havent been sending bills out.
Has anyone else had this issue? And do i have any other choice other than to pay them the full £570 and leave, or stay with them and increase my direct debit in an attempt to cover the difference.

Thanks.
Jake

Comments

• victor2
    victor2 Posts: 7,656 Ambassador
    I'm a Volunteer Ambassador First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    Unfortunately that's the curse of relying on estimated readings. When was the last actual reading (either by you or a meter reader) given? No bills in 3 years? Are you on an on-line only account, so would only get bills or notifications by email?
    CoOp Energy don't have a very good reputation, but all you can do is come up with a payment plan to clear the bill as soon as possible if you want to switch to another supplier.