Is this a good long term investment?

Options
I'm 18 years of age, I am currently a Floor Manager which brings in roughly £900 after tax a month. However, this will soon rise as I will be getting promoted to a Shift Manager, this is expected to rise to about £1,200 a month after tax. I currently have £7,000 in my bank account

I would like to mortgage a house and let someone rent it out off me. Forget about the price and location, I can worry about that when I look into it in further detail. I would like to know if it's worth investing into?

So if I get a house mortgaged of £500 a month? I can charge the people who want to rent my house of £400 a month.
That means I would have to only pay £100 a month right?

The main question is, would someone of my age, and financial details benefit from mortgaging a house?

Thank you in advance

Comments

• racing_blue
    Options
    Hi Reece

I think the fact you are here asking this entrepreneurial question aged 18 is really positive

I would weigh the anticipated rental income against anticipated costs. Include mortgage interest as a cost, but not repayment of capital. There are lots of other costs too. Income may not always be achieved so build a margin of safety into your calculations. If projected income exceeds projected costs, and you can raise the funds, and get a good deal on the house, then it's a goer. & this is true for someone of any age.
  • racing_blue
    Options
    PS Have you read "Rich Dad Poor Dad"? It might help your thought processes at this point I suspect
  • El_Torro
    El_Torro Posts: 1,493 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    If you are receiving £400 a month in rent and paying £500 a month in mortgage repayments you are unlikely to get any bank to agree to give you a buy to let mortgage. It also shows it's a poor investment.