PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.

Washing machine smell

Options
13»

Comments

• Butterfly_Brain
    Options
    Thanks Rainy-Days, I tried this last night and it seems to have done the trick. I did a 90 degree wash with a little bleach followed by a 40 degree wash with a load of bicarb in the drum and white vinegar in the draw (I fount that bit of advice online).

My washing machine didn't smell after that so I did a wash load this morning and the washing machine still smells fine and the washing smelt good too.

I won't make the mistake of using liquid detergent again!

Please be careful, NEVER mix bleach and vinegar, you will get chlorine gas and it will kill you
    Blessed are the cracked for they are the ones that let in the light
    C.R.A.P R.O.L.L.Z. Member #35 Butterfly Brain + OH - Foraging Fixers
    Not Buying it 2015!
  • Snorkypants
    Options
    Please be careful, NEVER mix bleach and vinegar, you will get chlorine gas and it will kill you

Thanks, I did read you shouldn't mix them but didn't find out why - it's good to have the info here. I did the vinegar in a separate wash so they weren't mixed. I was guesstimating that the machine would be totally free of bleach before the vinegar got into the drum as I had put the vinegar in the conditioner bit of the drawer on the second wash.

So the bleach was hopefully washed out on the first wash, but as a back up there was more water pushed through in the second wash before the vinegar would have come out of that draw towards the end of the second wash.

We're still alive so I think my guesstimate was right! Either that or I'm a ghost and just haven't noticed yet...that sounds like the start of a film....