Bradeastham savings

Hi everyone,

This seems a fun thing to do and I'm hoping everyone's encouragement will help me on my journey.

I started my first job at the beginning of the year and have always been okay with any money I had but I have never really kept track, well I have been with my girlfriend for over 6 years now and while she is in her second year at uni and I am at home, we have been talking about the future, we have decided that during the third year, she will live with me (living with parents) while we save up for our own house following completion of uni.

Current situation:
Savings : £800 (110 for car tax due Jan 1st, 690/1000 due for car insurance on Jan 23rd)
Credit cards : 2, limits of £800 (rising to £1200 on 16 December) and £600. All my spending is done on these cards then paid in full at the end of the month.

Savings goals:
Rainy day fund: £1,800 (I want this to be my total credit limit just in case I need it for extra card payments, obviously others as well)
Motor fund: £2,025 by 31/12/16 (I want to increase this by 25p per mile while taking out fuel payments, I do around 1,000 miles a month so this works out for extra payments needed and future insurance etc)
Rail ticket: £526 by 30/06/16 (annual ticket price and due date)
House: £7,500 by 30/06/17 (obviously I would like this to be as high as possible come the date we are seriously considering moving.

I hope you all enjoy my journey!

And feel free to comment as much as you like!
Save 12k in 2016 : #54 : £715.16 / £5,500

Comments

This discussion has been closed.
Meet your Ambassadors

Categories

  • All Categories
  • 341.5K Banking & Borrowing
  • 249.6K Reduce Debt & Boost Income
  • 449K Spending & Discounts
  • 233.6K Work, Benefits & Business
  • 605.9K Mortgages, Homes & Bills
  • 172.3K Life & Family
  • 246.5K Travel & Transport
  • 1.5M Hobbies & Leisure
  • 15.8K Discuss & Feedback
  • 15.1K Coronavirus Support Boards