Have HSBC ERC recently changed?

Hi all,

Just been on my online banking and noticed that HSBC seem to have changed their ERC terms. Anyone know anything about this?

We are currently in the middle of a 2 year fix but as per the previous rules, started paying the maximum of 10% of the monthly payment allowed.

I logged on today to see that we now have a yearly allowance that we are allowed to overpay of £11792. Does this mean that the previous rules of 10% of monthly payment no longer apply?

Thanks for any replies in advance!
Mortgage - £105,500

Comments

• kingstreet
    kingstreet Posts: 38,760 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    10% of monthly payment?

Are you sure? 10% of outstanding balance each year would be more usual.
    I am a mortgage broker. You should note that this site doesn't check my status as a Mortgage Adviser, so you need to take my word for it. This signature is here as I follow MSE's Mortgage Adviser Code of Conduct. Any posts on here are for information and discussion purposes only and shouldn't be seen as financial advice. Please do not send PMs asking for one-to-one-advice, or representation.
  • Yes, that was the rule previously. However, I've just looked in my messages in online banking and it's true, the rules have changed and it's now 10% allowance per year which is fantastic news. :j:T
    Mortgage - £105,500
  • Hi PrincessLou

Same here, I also logged onto my HSBC online banking yesterday and noticed something hinting at an altered maximum over-payment scheme.. I'm currently paying the 20% extra on top of my minimum/standard monthly payments.

I've just been off the 'phone' (Skype) and they've told me that yes, they've altered their over-payments. You can now over pay by 10% of your outstanding balance, per year. I'm currently 1 year into a fixed-rate deal. So if you had a remaining balance of £115,000 for example, you could over pay by £11,500 per year (£958.33 per month extra).