We've changed the name of this board from 'Greenfingered MoneySaving' to simply 'Gardening'. This is to help make it easier to find for the horticulturally inclined. The URL remains unchanged for the time being, so all links to the board are unaffected.

Anyone any good at physics?

zygurat789
zygurat789 Posts: 4,263 Forumite
First Anniversary Combo Breaker
I grow tomatoes in large bucket sized pots against a south facing wall. They are very thirsty and need to be kept very moist. So when I come to feed them liquid seeps out of the pot; now is this the new liquid feed I have just poured in at the top or is it just the plain water that was near the bottom of the compost?
The only thing that is constant is change.

Comments

• PasturesNew
    PasturesNew Posts: 70,698 Forumite
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Anniversary First Post
    I'm not good at physics, but I bet most of it's the new stuff as the existing stuff will be 'water logged' so the new stuff will run off that sodden earth rather than sinking in and pushing the old liquid out.

You could test this now in your bathroom - go and get a sponge and soak it. Lay that down in the bath and get some coloured liquid (drink, squash, watered down ketchup) and pour that onto the sponge from about 2' above it ... see what happens.
  • SailorSam
    SailorSam Posts: 22,754 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    zygurat789 wrote: »
    now is this the new liquid feed I have just poured in at the top or is it just the plain water that was near the bottom of the compost?

Could you just taste it and see ?
    Liverpool is one of the wonders of Britain,
    What it may grow to in time, I know not what.

Daniel Defoe: 1725.
  • zygurat789
    SailorSam wrote: »
    Could you just taste it and see ?

Your idea, you try, if you don't report back we'll know it was the feed coming through.