STILL having problems burning

in Techie Stuff
8 replies 726 views
Hi there,

Some of you may recall I had problems with my new pc's burner only burning in + format and my portable dvd player only playing in - (minus). Well I took the advice I got and went and bought a pioneer DVR 108. I have now installed this.

The problem that I have even now is when I burn a dvd in minus format my portable dvd player is still not picking it up! All I am getting is a "no valid disc" message yet the disc plays fine on my main player and my pc.

I am using Sonic record now! version 7 (which came already installed on the pc) to burn the discs. And have used 2 different makes of disc.

It may be worth pointing out I have also installed Nero 6 but when I have added files and clicked "next" the "burn" tabe on the final page is greyed out not giving me the option to burn.

Being a complete novice at this burning lark it could be something simple that I am doing or not doing.

Hope someone can help,

Thanks,

Pete.
I'll get me coat!

Replies

• Is your portable DVD player spec'd to play DVD-R?

If it is (and the fact that the DVD plays on your main player suggests that there is no error with the DVD itself) try a different brand of DVD media - some of the 'cheaper' brands are rejected by certain hardware.

Oh - and you might want to check here for Nero problems (or ask your Nero question there): Tech Support Forums. :)
  • I have this same problem Pete.G. My brother in law said you need to 'finalise' the disc to create an index that ordinary CD players need to read the disc (computers don't need it which is why the CDs play ok if they haven't got one).

I'm going to try again now and will report back.

G

PS I'm also using Sonic.
    "No matter how little money and how few possesions you own, having a dog makes you rich." - Louis Sabin
  • Hi,