DMP & Mutual Support Thread - Part 11

Options

Comments

• Sazzie23
    Sazzie23 Posts: 2,634 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker Post of the Month
    Options
    Hi all

This is my first time as part of this forum, and I was hoping for some advice...my wife and I have been in a DMP with SC for some time now, and to give us more control (mainly to deal with BC) we are trying to go self managed - so far so good, but the only company who has been 'awkward' is Whistletree (the debt wing of good old Northern Rock)...having paid them myself today (rather than go through SC), they said that because they hadn't received payment on time from SC, I was now 'outside' of my agreement...the upshot is that they told me I had to either go back to SC and they would reinstate my agreement (frozen interest - I'm 5K in arrears on the unsecured part of my mortgage, but up to date on secured) or declare my intention to go self - managed, and go through new I&E with them. If I didn't, my unsecured loan payments would revert to 4.5%APR. Ok, I understand, but I asked if I could have a copy of their I&E form, and they refused, and wanted me to go through it over the phone. Naturally, I declined their offer, but I was wondering if anyone could advise on where to go now:
    a) go back to DMP with SC?
    b) declare intention to go SM, and go through I&E over the phone?
    If I do nothing, the chap told me that it would naturally revert to 4.5%APR and they would expect me to 'make a contribution' to the outstanding amount PCM - what does that mean??

Any help much appreciated! :)

Hi Tryingmybest

Welcome to the DMP thread. Seems like you have plenty of knowledge to share already.