Debt Management Plan and credit rating

Options
Hi, to cut a long story short, I got a load of silly debt out when I was 18 and now I am 24 I am paying for it. Its accounts to around £12000 in total but the payments just got too much, so I stopped paying them, a stupid and costly mistake. My girlfriend finally made me act and do something about the debt, so I took out a debt management plan after being told this would be best for me. I have been paying this for around 8 months now and my debt is coming down, very slowly, but atleast its coming down. My question is will my credit rating/score start to improve on this plan or will it remain 'very poor' until all the debt is paid off? I got myself into such a silly position and dont want to be penalised for the next ten years as thats how long it will take to pay the debt off at its current rate.

Comments

• DCFC79
    DCFC79 Posts: 40,598 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    Maybe it will, maybe it wont but thats irrelevant as lenders dont see your rating/score, your file will have some effect for max of 6 years.

Id focus on saving, looking at your money and see if you can make any cutbacks.
  • Tixy
    Tixy Posts: 31,455 Forumite
    Options
    As part of the DMP you agree not to take out any more credit until the debts are repaid. So I wouldn't worry too much about your credit rating at the moment.

You'd need to look at your credit files to assess how long these debts are likely to impact on you. It is likely that your creditors have entered defaults on your credit file. Any account with a default will stay on your file for 6 years from the date of default listed on file.

After 6 years the whole credit entry drops off your credit file.

Is your DMP with one of the free/charity providers? or is it with a company charging your a monthly fee? If the latter consider switching as that money would be better going towards your debts and helping you get debt free sooner.