We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

'no claims discount' question

Options
I have been driving since 1983 and have never made a claim.
However, I have always just been a 'named driver' on my husband's (now ex-husband) insurance.

I have just ordered a new car (got a fantastic price, and a fantastic loan deal due to info on this site...thanks Martin :j ) and I have been researching insurance deals.

But with no NCD to my name the premiums are quite expensive.

I know Direct Line offer NCD to people in my position, are there any other companies that also take into account a previously named driver's no claims record

Comments

• shelly
    shelly Posts: 6,394 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    Trinity.B wrote: »
    I know Direct Line offer NCD to people in my position, are there any other companies that also take into account a previously named driver's no claims record

If only it was as easy as that! :D Direct Line won't give NCD to people in your position, they will only give named drivers NCD if they have been on a policy taken out with them.
    I think you will have to just call a few companies a say you have been a named driver with no claims under your belt and ask if they will give a discount to you as a goodwill gesture. You might have to prove this though.
  • siamese0109
    Options
    Can you go to the company your ex insured with and get a quote from them - telling them you were insured on his policy. If they do credit you with some no claims it might be worth insuring wih them for the first year - even if they are slightly more expensive - as the renewal notice you get from them at the end of that period will show the no claims they've credited you with.
  • shelly