RE Restructure - Not being treated fairly

iNeedAdvice
iNeedAdvice Posts: 2 Newbie
edited 21 May 2015 at 11:39PM in Redundancy & redundancy planning
Hi,

I'm not sure if this is right forum to post this but need to get this off my chest and get some advice.

I've been working for a local authority now for over 10 years in the IT department.

Over the years we have had a number of restructures but the team I work in has never been affected.

Recently we have been told that the whole department are being retructured and that we will need to apply for jobs in the new structure.

The HOS (head of service) has shown us the new structure chart and my job doesnt exisit!!

However there are 4 posts which are virtually the same as what im doing now but they have deliberatly changed the job title so that we cannot be assimilated...

For the past 6months we have had large private company working with the local authority on a number of IT projects.

The main project they are working on is exactly what my team do, however it seems the HOS and other management do not want us involved in it and have activly keeping us out of the loop with things.

So much so when they needed extra resources to help with the project they brough it more people from the private firm instead of getting the team I work for invovled in it.

To top it off, the HOS has recently made some "temporary" changes to our team and asked that one of our developers report directly to one of the managers from the private company.

As you can imagine, this is really demoralising and feels really unfair.

While the private company are brining in more and more resources, we are being pushed to the side and when I have asked the HOS what is going on, or why we are not being included he doesnt answer.

It almost feels like they do not want us and they are giving all of our work to a 3rd party.