PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.

do you find it cheaper to buy groceries 'as you need them'?

Options

Comments

• Generali
    Generali Posts: 36,411 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    keza wrote: »
    hi everyone,

so my question stems from the show 'back in time for dinner'. im only a youngish wife and mother (29) so have only ever known supermarkets and home deliveries etc.

I am just wondering from some of you more experienced old stylers (as im still learning), do you find it cheaper to shop like in the 50's - for groceries by the day/every couple of days as you need them, or weekly/fortnightly?

Im interested because i am about to embark on maternity leave in the summer and will have more time on my hands so wondering if shopping 'as we need' would work out cheaper as well as keep me busy? TIA

It's what I've always done. I'm 44 so only really know the supermarket age but it's worked for me. I'm good at avoiding the temptation of buying 'stuff' though. Mrs Generali would be a nightmare as our world would become one of 'useful' plastic tat.
  • System
    System Posts: 178,096 Community Admin
    Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    I think my choice would be pretty limited if I shopped daily as I'd have to use my local mini supermarkets and they only sell the basics. Plus the fact I'd be tempted to throw an extra couple of things in my basket.
  • NoGoodNamesLeft
    Options