PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.
🗳️ ELECTION 2024: THE MSE LEADERS' DEBATE Got a burning question you want us to ask the party leaders ahead of the general election? Submit your suggestions via this form or post them on our dedicated Forum board where you can see and upvote other users' questions. Please note that the Forum's rules on avoiding general political discussion still apply across all boards.

Budgeting and bogofs

Options
Hello,

Newbie here, so be gentle with me please! Not sure if this is the right forum but you all seem so nice and helpful on this one that I thought I'd try here (the budget and current accounts forum seems to be full of woes about bank accounts). I've also tried to search for the answer to my question but not found an easy answer so here goes:

How do you account for bogofs/x% off in your budgets? I'm in a fortunate position in that I not quite so hard up as some so can spend a little more on bargains in a week than those who are really up against it. Twice recently, I've spent more on my weekly shop because there was a good deal on things. One week there was a deal on dog food so I bought about 6 months supply, saving me about £10.00 overall.

The next week there was a bogof deal on a health product I buy. That saved me about £25.00 and I now have enough for a year.

So how do I account for those savings? Do I count them as a saving THAT WEEK - even though I spend more than I would have done normally or do I spread the saving across the following 6/12 months' weekly budgets as I won't have to buy them again for that length of time?

Do people do an six monthly/annual budget to see the 'spread' savings or what?