New to the UK and trying to build credit

Options
sammyvalencia
sammyvalencia Posts: 12 Forumite
edited 3 March 2015 at 12:00AM in Credit file & ratings
Hey guys,

I'm new to the UK and am looking for ways to build my credit score as quickly and soundly as possible as I'd like to do the usual stuff; gain a credit card, buy a car, buy a house..etc
I know there are no tricks to the trade, so to speak, but there's some great advice on here such as registering to vote.

I tried calling Aqua, as their website suggests they can help people who are new to the UK, however the agent on the phone told me I had to be here 2 years before I could apply - surely 2 years means you're no longer new to the UK!? Does this sound right?
(I've been here just over a month now).

I've signed up for all the usual stuff; internet bills, gas/electric, water, however some companies have indicated that I must pay a downpayment of £x as I have no credit history, and it will be reimbursed after x months - does anyone know if this is good or bad for my credit score?

Is it worth signing up for sites like Experian.co.uk to track my score?

Do things like automotive insurance HELP my credit score if I'm paying yearly?
I also have a dog; will paying for yearly pet insurance also help my credit score do you think?

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer!

Comments

• Thrugelmir
    Thrugelmir Posts: 89,546 Forumite
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    You've been here a month and could disappear in a couple more. Relationships are built over time. You are expecting far too much so soon.
    surely 2 years means you're no longer new to the UK!? Does this sound right?

Running up debt and disappearing is common. So of course lenders will be cautious. They'll want to see that you've put roots down.
  • sammyvalencia
    sammyvalencia Posts: 12 Forumite
    edited 3 March 2015 at 1:20AM
    Options