We've changed the name of this board from 'Greenfingered MoneySaving' to simply 'Gardening'. This is to help make it easier to find for the horticulturally inclined. The URL remains unchanged for the time being, so all links to the board are unaffected.

Parsnips in Bottles 2014

I thought it was time to give an audit for 2014 on the results of growing parsnips and carrots in bottles. Previous postings are here with links and pictures.

http://forums.moneysavingexpert.com/showthread.php?t=4780340

I regards to parsnips, I have had another productive year growing in 2ltr bottles, with a harvest of 29LB. I grew two types, Goliath and White Gem. The main bad results have come from delaying the harvesting of my crop; I guess I think too much about the old adage of parsnips tasting better after a bit of frost. I started lifting the first bottles on 2nd Sept., but only because a couple of the White Gem bolted. I lifted the bottles and found out one of the parsnips weighed about 10oz and the other 7oz, I could have eaten them weeks before. I grew quite a lot of bottles this year, and although only a couple of more bolted, it is taking me quite a while to eat the parsnips. Consequently, other pests a diseases have attacked the plants, especially as many of the diseases are fungus caused, and this has been a wet winter so far. I have lifted some bottles and put them in the greenhouse. This made them dry out and easier to get out of the bottles, but then one of our furry friends got in and had a nice feast of carrots and parsnips - the bottles now have flower pots on top of them. I planted up till very late in the season, and the results from these bottles are very good, I am still getting parsnips of about 8oz from them. I also grew some in the 25 kilo bags my coal comes in, they were sown very late in leaf mould. One bag had about eight parsnips in it, but that was pushing it a bit too much, the parsnips were quite small. But I had one with only four, and the total weight o