Should I transfer my LGPS funds to the NHS scheme.

Options
Hi, I am age 49 and left my local government job and pension scheme to which I had been contributing to for over 20 Years (final salary scheme) and moved to NHS employment last month for a lower paid job. (but more fulfilment and hopefully less stress!)
My LGPS pot is now sitting, obviously with nothing being added and I have been automatically enrolled for the NHS scheme and am contributing to it now.
I have the option of transferring my LGPS existing funds in to the NHS scheme.
I am in the process of getting a pension transfer value quotation from my LGPS previous employer to find out what my previous pension benefits will be worth in the NHS scheme.
However, I feel very uncertain about this especially with the forthcoming changes from 'final salary' to 'average earnings' in April.
A transfer can take some months, would I risk my previous pension being put in to the new pension at the average earnings rate? Would I be best simply leaving my previous LGPS pot where it is and having two pensions at retirement?
Any advice, thoughts about this would be appreciated. :)

Comments

• xylophone
    xylophone Posts: 44,584 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    In the circumstances you describe, my inclination would be to leave the pension deferred in LGPS.

http://www.lgps2014.org/content/deferred-benefits
  • hyubh
    hyubh Posts: 3,539 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    However, I feel very uncertain about this especially with the forthcoming changes from 'final salary' to 'average earnings' in April.