State Pension Question

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Pensions, Annuities & Retirement Planning
7 replies 1.3K views
tigerspilltigerspill Forumite
649 Posts
Sixth Anniversary 500 Posts Name Dropper
✭✭
Hi,

Another question in my learning and financial/retirement planning journey.
This one related how "Contracting Out" will affect my state pension.

I have been working since 1988 for the same company. I worked for 14 months for another company in 1986/87 and paid NI during that time.
I got a statement from the DWP a few months ago which said I had 30 years payments. I seem to have three added years when I was 16/17/18.
The pension statement was based on the current system of 30/30 years times £113.10/week. i.e. a full state pension.

What I am trying to understand are the implications of the new rules.
I understand that you now will need 35 years of payments for a "full" pension. If I don't have the full 35 years, will it be apportioned in exactly the same way as now - e.g. if I have 32 years payments - would I get a 32/35 fraction of whatever the weekly amount is?

Secondly, for the most of my working years (to 2009), my company was contracted out from SERPs (i think that is the correct term). I am trying to understand the implications of this on the amount I will get under the new scheme where the weekly amount is “fixed” at say £160 per week (cant quite remember the amount that is bandied around).
I am assuming that I wont get that full amount even if I have 35 years of payments.
If I have 21 years contracted out and say 14 years contracted in, using the current weekly value of £113 and the new proposed value of £160 – will I get 21/35 times £113 plus 14/35 times £160. i.e. £131 / week. Oe will it be calculated some other way?

(I am using the above numbers as illustrative).

Replies

• greenglidegreenglide Forumite
    3.3K Posts
    Part of the Furniture Combo Breaker Hung up my suit!
    ✭✭✭✭