Do I take new job or stay where I am?

Options
Hi there,

I'm looking for some advice please?

I've been working for a charity for the last 8 months. I LOVE the job it's really interesting and my job is really varied. My problem is that ethically I have real concerns about the job.

My boss is in charge of the organisation. He's a great guy but some of the decisions he makes I think are really 'dodgy'. e.g. He signs off expenses for people for certain 'works' and I've since found out the people haven't actually done the work and there was no intention for the work to be done. He just wants to 'reward' them for the extra stuff they do but the company doesn't pay overtime.

He puts through expenses for himself for lunch etc when I know that he's not had business meetings but has taken his friends out. There are a lot of other things but I can't mention them on here. My problem is that I have to log all the expenses and pay them through the bank so I feel complicit in this.

My friends told me to ignore the 'dodgy' goings on - that it's not down to me in the end and that it's his responsibility if he's signing off things. I just feel that as I'm aware about these things I am just as responsible for allowing this to happen.

I applied for a job at the local council and have been successful. My problem is that it's about £2K a year less, it's not going to be anywhere near as interesting and it's a bit further away (only about 15 minutes). On the plus side there is a good pension scheme!

This job would be a lot less stress and there would be a lot more structure and I'm supposing that eventually I could work my way up.