How much is enough?

Options

Comments

• mlv-1967
    Options
    ognum wrote: »
    I am not a pensions expert but here are a few things that cost less after retirement.

No mortgage
    DIY jobs done yourself as you have time
    Eating lunch out not dinner, always cheaper
    No need for work clothes, jeans are fine.
    Traveling on the days he flights are cheap not the weekend
    Being able to us the Avios as you can fly anytime and plan a year in advance if needed
    Walk don't take car as have more time.
    Cooking from scratch as more time.

We live well, no state pension yet but good living! We live better than at 45!

Precisely. And many retired people also earn some pin money by occasional work or maybe two days a week, so it all depends on your health at the end of the day.

I think the future is that people will never fully retire. The government is determined to increase the state pension age endlessly, so there will be many more semi-retired than fully retired in the future, I guess. I don't see myself as 'fully retired' until 75.
  • jem16
    jem16 Posts: 19,404 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Photogenic
    Options
    mlv-1967 wrote: »
    Meaning what? Some people are worth less than others?

Meaning that someone who earned £60k is going to find it more difficult to drop down to £15 than someone who earned £25k.
    Groceries from Tesco are the same price nationally, so I don't see how location matters and once retired the housing expense is no longer relevant.

Groceries may be about the only thing that you could say used national pricing - at least according to Tesco!

For most other things like petrol, cost of heating and travel it matters a great deal whether you are living in Scotland (even worse if it's the north) or the south of England.
  • Triumph13
    Triumph13 Posts: 1,742 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post I've been Money Tipped!
    Options