paying extra into pension

Hi,
I have a LGPS which i've been paying into for 2 years. I'm already 42 so am thinking I should probably make extra provisions.

The trouble is I don't really know what questions I should be finding the answers to. Is it ever a bad idea to pay into the same pension or should I spread savings around a little?

How can I find out what difference my extra contributions would make? I've no idea how much extra I should put away.

I'm just starting this education into pensions so any help appreciated.
Thanks
16/06/16 £11446 30/12/16 £9661.49
01/08/17 £7643.69

Comments

• atush
    atush Posts: 18,726 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    You have a few options, buying added pension, added years, or AVCs.

or if you intend to retire before scheme age, a personal pension.
  • hyubh
    hyubh Posts: 3,531 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    atush wrote: »
    You have a few options, buying added pension, added years, or AVCs.

Added pension ('APC') yes, AVC yes, added years no.
    or if you intend to retire before scheme age, a personal pension.

Or even on scheme age...
  • hyubh
    hyubh Posts: 3,531 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    The trouble is I don't really know what questions I should be finding the answers to. Is it ever a bad idea to pay into the same pension or should I spread savings around a little?
    APC - if you're a part timer or won't be long in the scheme then purchasing an APC may be a good idea purely to build up your low-risk DB benefits. Otherwise, keep in mind the cost will reflect zero employer contribution, unlike your main benefits in the scheme. Moreover, a normal APC doesn't buy you additional spousal benefits, just additional main pension.