BMI Credit Card

Options
Hi, I'm a newbie on here and did a bit of a search of the forums but couldn't find the exact answer to my question, so apologies if there's an answer out in the forums somewhere, and aplogies for the long windedness!

I currently have an MBNA Platinum card with a balance of £1100, I was told about the 20,000 free BMI miles that you receive as an introductory offer when you apply for a BMI card and spend £250+ within 90 days. I fly a lot and also a member of the BMI Diamond club so thought I may as well take advantage of the freebie, as well as the 12 months interested free on balance transfers.

Unfortunately, I notice that their balance transfer offer does not apply to other MBNA accounts, which appears to rule me out of that offer.

However, I noticed the following in the T&C's
Cheque transactions: In the first twelve months from the account opening date, we will charge interest at the rate of 0% p.a. (a year). After that, we will charge a standard rate of 15.9% p.a. (a year).

That seems to suggest eg. I write an £1100 cheque drawn on the BMI card account payable to my partner, she then writes a cheque to my existing MBNA Platinum card account to clears the balance, and I wont get charged interest on that card for £12 months (apart from paying their 3% handling fee) - so in effect a balance transfer by the back door?

Can anyone confirm if I am reading this right?

Comments

• ZippyandBungle_2
    Options
    bump bump bump :A
  • ZippyandBungle_2
    Options
    Can nobody help? :confused::(
  • The_Boss
    The_Boss Posts: 5,850 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    That is assuming you are issued with cheques, as they are not automatic unless it says so.

I've requested them several times for my bmi card, and not received them.
  • YorkshireBoy
    YorkshireBoy Posts: 31,541 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options