Gap insurance in moms name but car registered to me..

Options
jadebee
jadebee Posts: 174 Forumite
Hi all,
This is slightly strange my mom brought a car and had the finance in her name because I was a nursing student at the time and couldn't get finance, the car was registered in my name.

However when we brought the car we were given gap insurance - Again in my moms name - The car has now been written off - Would the gap insurance still stand even though the car is in my name?

My mom is still insured on the vehicle and the finance is still in her name.

Any help would be appreciated

Comments

• InsideInsurance
    Options
    You need to read the terms of the policy.

The registered keeper is rarely of much interest but who the owner is can be. As she paid for it then it would suggest its her car even if you are the registered keeper but the question will be if you have declared this to your Car insurers?
  • OddballJamie
    OddballJamie Posts: 2,661 Forumite
    Options
    What did the gap insurance company say when you called them to notify of a claim?
  • jadebee
    Options
    What did the gap insurance company say when you called them to notify of a claim?

They said it is a really unusual situation - my mom has the finance but isn't the registered keeper of the car, as usually when buying a car they are reluctant to do it.

They said they don't know if there will be an issue as my mom is still insured on the car she is still paying the finance (which I give her the money for)
  • jadebee
    edited 3 November 2014 at 4:42PM
    Options
    You need to read the terms of the policy.

The registered keeper is rarely of much interest but who the owner is can be. As she paid for it then it would suggest its her car even if you are the registered keeper but the question will be if you have declared this to your Car insurers?