Grant overpayment, is it negotiable?

I graduated this summer and have just got a job. The same month I joined I get a letter telling me I was overpaid £1400 and I must pay it back immediately.

I'm trying to get my debts into order already but now SLC are demanding what I believe is a hefty amount and they would not take my offer.

They are asking £150 a month, or 50% of my disposable income. Although apparently they refuse to accept household purchases, Christmas savings or groceries to be part of feasible outgoings...

I'm trying to reduce this so I have some money left over this month to put into emergency savings. The reason they are demanding £150 is because I apparently am able to pay this much to my credit card company (I'm trying to reduce my debt there too) so if I'm able to pay £150 to them, I must be able to pay £150 to SLC... which doesn't make the tiniest bit of sense.

I guess I'm just asking if anyone has been able to negotiate this down? Or is it always what they say goes? They refused to accept my offer of £50, which is what I am currently putting into savings. I thought that was reasonable but they said no.

Comments

• TheEffect
    TheEffect Posts: 2,293 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    I had a £1k overpayment of grant. Graduated in July and currently looking for a job. I'm paying them £20/m until Jan 2015, then I'll have to renegotiate.

I've always found them quite helpful. They asked for £50, but accepted lower payments. Even when I was still a student (overpayment was from 2nd year), they let me pay £25/m.
  • greensalad
    greensalad Posts: 2,530 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Combo Breaker
    TheEffect wrote: »
    I had a £1k overpayment of grant. Graduated in July and currently looking for a job. I'm paying them £20/m until Jan 2015, then I'll have to renegotiate.