ppi claim for mortgage

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Reclaim Bank & Credit Card Charges
6 replies 1.1K views
oldgirl63oldgirl63 Forumite
1 Post
I had ppi on a mortgage in 2002 at the time I was a full time teacher employed by the local authority with a sickness payment plan lasting for 12 months. I was told at a later annual review meeting with my then bank manager that I did not require the cover and she immediately cancelled it .Can |I reclaim I have the policy number etc and have my bank statements for that period .HELP!

Replies

• McKneffMcKneff Forumite
    38.5K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Name Dropper
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    You don't just reclaim it just because you had it.

You make a complaint about miss selling, the reason you give is a very weak one to be honest.

MPPI was usually a good idea even if you were on full salary.
    make the most of it, we are only here for the weekend.
    and we will never, ever return.
  • dunstonhdunstonh Forumite
    106.8K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Name Dropper Combo Breaker
    ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    I had ppi on a mortgage in 2002 at the time I was a full time teacher employed by the local authority with a sickness payment plan lasting for 12 months.

Teachers get 6 months full pay and 6 months half pay. Whilst that is a good reason with short term debt (loan and credit card PPI) it doesnt work as well with mortgage PPI and the FOS have been rejecting complaints with that.

Here is a FOS outcome on an MPPI sale with a teacher: http://www.ombudsman-decisions.org.uk/viewPDF.aspx?FileID=37842

You can be mis-sold anything. If it was credit card or loan PPI then you would have a strong complaint. With MPPI not so strong.