Holiday insurance that pays out?

Hello,
I'm traveling with my wife to Majorca this summer, I've always gone with insure & go top policy, having watched Benidorm ER etc and seen people kicked out of hospital due to lack of cover I asked the question, only to be told that they only cover FREE public hospitals!!
My question is, who has had a claim paid out and by whom? Price is not the issue cover is ! Seen on Benidorm ER insurance companies paying out for heart operations broken legs etc yet others refusing to pay anything and leaving people with huge bills and having to move to public hospitals

I need full cover

I'm new to MSE. So if I'm in the wrong place please point me in the right direction

Phil

Replies

• Savvy_SueSavvy_Sue Forumite
    44.8K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Name Dropper
    Forumite
    Welcome.

You start with Martin's article on travel insurance, and then you look at the discussion to see who 'rates' which policy.
    Signature removed for peace of mind
  • Don't forget to take your EHIC with you as well.
  • We have travel insurance with the Co-Op. I have a multitude of pre-existing conditions including insulin dependent diabetes, heart disease and am over 75. No medical screening and everything covered except those illnesses treated by a Consultant.

Paid out a huge claim, in excess of £10K, with no problems and were a tower of strength keeping us fully informed, liaising with the hospital, arranging transport home etc.

We can only get Europe cover. Just renewed and cost £290 for an annual policy for two of us.
  • I think people should be careful not just to travel with only an Ehic card as some Spanish hospitals have turned people away in the past even thought they are not meant to!

Maybe look at someone like Good to go insurance who have a good reputation with the over 50s?
  • Muppet81Muppet81 Forumite
    949 Posts
    Part of the Furniture Combo Breaker