PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.
🗳️ ELECTION 2024: THE MSE LEADERS' DEBATE Got a burning question you want us to ask the party leaders ahead of the general election? Post them on our dedicated Forum board where you can see and upvote other users' questions, or submit your suggestions via this form. Please note that the Forum's rules on avoiding general political discussion still apply across all boards.

Any bread makers out there?

Options
I have been making my own bread now for about 6 months or so.
I use a stand mixer. I have had fairly good results mostly, my white bread efforts are good and I am happy with them. When I make wholemeal/stoneground/granary type breads they tend to come out a bit on the heavy side (still get eaten,though!)
I bought some vitamin C powder (designed for breadmaking).
The mix I used this morning,was 600g granary, 200g strong white with a tbspn olive oil, 2 tspns brown sugar, 2 tspns salt, 2 tspns instant yeast and 1/4 tsp vitamin C powder.
The two little loaves rose beautifully on the second rise and then sank in the oven (220 degs, 30 mins).

Has anyone else had any experience with vitamin C powder?
Did you get a good result?

These are by far the worst 'brown' loaves I've ever made.

Can anyone give me any advice?

Much appreciated :)

Comments

• THIRZAH
    THIRZAH Posts: 1,465 Forumite
    Options
    I usually use half granary/ half white as find too much granary-or wholemeal flour does make for a heavier loaf.
  • *zippy*
    *zippy* Posts: 2,979 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    I make 2 loaves at a time

800g wholemeal flour
    200g white flour
    Squirt honey it's about 25/30g I think