Do I need a credit card?

Options
My boyfriend and I are both 22 and still living with our parents. I am a primary school teacher and he is a training pilot in the RAF. He has a credit card, but I don't - only a debit card. I don't have any student loans or unpaid debts. I rarely go into my overdraft, and if I do it's paid off within days. I have several monthly payments that come straight from my bank account e.g. rent, phone bill.

We are both planning to move in together in a couple of years once we've saved enough money - will my not having a credit card affect my credit rating / ability to get a loan or mortgage when we need one? I'm not really sure how it works. I've had a look round the internet but different sites say different things. I'm quite happy with my debit card at the moment, but am only worried for the future.

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 35,242 Forumite
    First Anniversary Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    Having a credit card, using it regularly and paying in full each month is a good way of building a good credit history. And try to stay out of your overdraf.
  • Sagz_2
    Sagz_2 Posts: 6,251 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    Having a credit card, using it regularly and paying in full each month is a good way of building a good credit history. And try to stay out of your overdraf.

Make sure you get a card that pays cashback :money: and make it earn you money :D
    Some days you're the dog..... most days you're the tree! :D
  • grumbler
    grumbler Posts: 58,629 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post Photogenic First Anniversary
    Options
    Having a credit card, using it regularly and paying in full each month is a good way of building a good credit history. And try to stay out of your overdraft....
    ...and a CC can help to stay away at no extra cost.
  • Gentoo365
    Gentoo365 Posts: 499 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Combo Breaker First Post