Where should I go for the best chance of a large overdraft?

Options
Hi all,

I'm a graduate intending to begin a graduate entry LLB (i.e., an undergraduate programme for graduates) and as such I'm on the lookout for a student account. My preference is for an account that will give me the largest interest free overdraft over the two year degree. From what I can see, HSBC is the bank that could provide me with the largest interest free overdraft (£3k) but I am a little weary from what I hear regarding being granted that size of overdraft from them.

Currently I have a reasonable amount of savings (which will go on the tuition fees), some direct debits, and a steady income. During my degree I will have a student loan and a part time income with direct debit payments for accommodation, my tuition fees, and probably a mobile phone bill or something of that sort.

My question is: which bank would provide me with the largest interest free overdraft over the course of the two year degree given my financial situation?

Comments

• GoldenShadow
    GoldenShadow Posts: 968 Forumite
    Options
    It's likely to be variable depending on your account conduct. HSBC repetitively offered to up mine, banked with them since I was about 14 and got my student account aged 18. I went with them because of their service mainly!
  • Ziri
    Ziri Posts: 2 Newbie
    Options
    I'll perhaps have to discuss it with an account/credit manager I suppose. Thanks for your feedback, it's good to know that the service is good :)
  • amiehall
    amiehall Posts: 1,363 Forumite
    Options
    I had mine with HSBC and ended up with the maximum, I did only get offered £1500 when I first opened the account though. Comparing with friends, most of them were only offered £500 initially by them but I was working for a while prior to starting uni and have a solid credit record (which presumably you have as well).