Looking at buying an Xbox, any recommendations?

Hi everyone.
First, I'm a complete gaming novice, bar owning a PS1 when I was a kid! I'm looking at buying an Xbox, probably a 360, definitely not forking out for an Xbox One. Can anyone give a recommendation on a good place to buy one, or a cheap offer? As far as I know I need the Xbox itself, cables and I'd like two controllers, plus obviously individual games. If I'm missing something let me know of course.

In addition, does anyone have Xbox Live, and would you consider it worth it?

Thank you!

Comments

• RyanEzio
    RyanEzio Posts: 100 Forumite
    Hi, Xbox 360 is definitely worth the money.

Amazon is probably the best place to purchase one from.
    You can get a Xbox 360 with a 4GB hard drive for £129.
    Or a Xbox 360 with a 250GB hard drive for £165
    The one with the 250 GB hard drive is more value for money.

Games are very cheap. Some of them starting from £5 . Ranging to £40 (new games).

Xbox live gold is great! Memberships cost around £30 for a year. But for that you get Free Demos, 2 FREE games a month and dedicated online gameplay & community.

I wouldn't bother purchasing the Xbox One as it's just a marketing ploy and many games coming out on that console are on the Xbox 360 anyway!
    Ryan
  • StuC75
    StuC75 Posts: 2,065 Forumite
    What??? I have the 360 and the xbox one (from launch) and haven't touched the 360 since then, despite thinking I might go back to play GTA..

Yes the same games are out on both, but graphically the difference is major,, even for the launch titles of Fifa and COD Ghosts.. I would dread to see what difference Titanfall would have graphically..

Games wise the cost isn't too much more - at the weekend I got Titanfall download for £37.90 via Cdkeys code (which I split with my sons xbox one making it cheaper for us both).. Game advertise it as over £42 for the xbox 360..